ESA Committees 2018-2019

The ESA convened last Friday, August 24th, for a start-of-semester planning. Big thanks to all who turned up and contributed ideas for student advocacy in the coming year. Committee responsibilities were addressed and ongoing projects reviewed. Below you will find the list of this year’s appointments.

  • ESA Co-chairs
    Facilitate discussion among members; act as liaisons between the student body and the Executive Officer; organize ESA meetings; serve on the Executive Committee ex officio.
    Jacob Aplaca
    Filipa Calado
  • Alumni and Fundraising
    ESA-only committee. Maintain alumni contact info; organize career panels, readings, and other social and scholarly events; create a yearly alumni newsletter with department updates and alumni publications.
    Daniel Hengel
    Elissa Myers
  • Conference
    ESA-only committee. Organize and run ESA conference; distribute a CFP; screen submissions; advertise conference; direct participants and volunteers on the day of the event.“Eruptions/Irruptions: Textures and Aesthetics of Rupture”
    Makeba Lavan
    Ryan Tracy
  • Course Assessment
    ESA-only committee. Oversee the dissemination, collection, and transcription of course evaluations.
    Param Ajmera
    Stephen Spencer
    Genevieve Bettendorf
    Sean Nolan
  • Curriculum
    Joint program-ESA committee. Regularly review the program’s requirements and make recommendations.
    Christian Lewis
    Mikey Rumore
  • Diversity
    Joint program-ESA committee. Attend to matters of diversity within the Program. As of May 2017, Diversity officers are drawn from members of program committees to better be able to represent diversity concerns across all areas of program governance.
    Jessica Lugo
    LeiLani Dowell
    Sara Akant
    William Arguelles
    Steven Herran
  • Editorial
    ESA-only committee. Organize student guides on ESA Commons; revise existing guides as needed.
    Beth Sherman
    Casandra Murray
    Genevieve Bettendorf
    Patrick James
  • Elections
    ESA-only committee. Conduct the election of student committee members and ESA Co-chairs; Responsible for including any valid proposed amendments to the ESA by-laws on the ballot.
    Bradley Nelson
    Chris Carpenter
  • Executive
    Joint program-ESA committee. 
    This committee is the chief governing body of the English Program. It meets about once a month, including Open Meetings at the end of each semester.
    Christina Katopodis
    Stefano Morello
  • Faculty Membership
    Joint program-ESA committee. Consider changes in the doctoral faculty membership; publicize searches for new members; make recommendations to the Executive Committee.
    Shoumik Battarchaya
    Catherine Engh
  • Friday Forum Committee
    Joint program-ESA committee. Evaluate the Friday Forum Proposals each semester.
    Jason Nielsen
    Jojo Karlin
  • Lounge/Library
    ESA-only committee. Maintain the ESA library in the English lounge.
    Stefano Morello
    Labanya Unui
  • Placement
    Joint program-ESA committee. 
    Work with the Placement Officer and other faculty members to coordinate job placement efforts.
    Elissa Myers
    Kristi Fleetwood
    Sarah Hildebrand
    Makeba Lavan
  • Recruitment
    Joint program-ESA committee. 
    Recruit potential new students before and during the Open House for admitted students; coordinate the Mentor/Mentee program; coordinate with the Website Committee on materials for the Prospective Students.
    Jessica Lugo
    Maxine Krenzel
    Sophie Riemenschneider
    Chad Frisbie
    Daniel Hengel
  • Website
    ESA-only committee. Maintain the ESA site; update, expand, and organize the website as needed.
    Jojo Karlin
    Param Ajmera
  • English Program DSC Representatives
    *DSC reps are not elected by the ESA
    Jason Nielsen
    Rebecca Fullan
    Shoumik Bhattacharya
  • At-Large DSC Representatives who are ESA members
    *DSC reps are not elected by the ESA
    Charlotte Thurston
    Sean Kennedy
  • Graduate Council
    *Grad Council members are elected for 2 year terms
    Susan Kalaz
    Jason Nielsen