About the ESA


The English Student Association (ESA) is a student-run organization that seeks to improve living and working conditions of students enrolled in the CUNY Graduate Center’s English PhD Program by representing the their interests. Representation includes expressing the concerns of the students to the faculty and administration as well as relaying information back to the students. The primary tasks of the ESA are to provide a forum for student concerns, sponsor a network of student mentors, oversee course evaluations, and run the student election process. In addition, the ESA runs an annual conference with faculty participation, open to ESA members as well as students from other institutions.

To get involved, sign up for the ESA listserv, join the ESA Facebook group.

ESA Constitution and By-laws

Read the 2015-2016-ESA-Constitution-and-By-laws (.docx) [Updated 5/19/2016]
Read the 2014-2015 ESA bylaws (.docx) (outdated)

ESA Budgets

Links to current and former ESA budgets and expenditures

ESA Meeting Agendas and Minutes

A list of available meeting agendas and minutes can be found here.

ESA Committee Membership

Former ESA Committee Members can be found here.

See Descriptions of Committee Roles and Statements from current and former committee members here.

ESA Co-chairs
Facilitate discussion among members; act as liaisons between the student body and the Executive Officer; organize ESA meetings; serve on the Executive Committee ex officio.
Elissa Myers
Catherine Engh

Admissions and Financial Aid
Read applications and work with faculty to make recommendations for offers of admission.
LeiLani Dowell
Amelia Greene
Michael Shellichach
Hilarie Ashton
Alicia Andrewjeski
Alternates Stephen Spencer

Alumni and Fundraising
Maintain alumni contact info; organize career panels, readings, and other social and scholarly events; create a yearly alumni newsletter with department updates and alumni publications.
Jason Nielsen
Paul Hebert
Jenny LeRoy
Mikayla Zagoria-Moffat
AlternateKate Eickmeyer

Organize and run ESA conference; distribute a CFP; screen submissions; advertise conference; direct participants and volunteers on the day of the event.
“The Vibrating World: Soundscapes and Undersongs”
Paul Fess
Sophia Sunseri
Elly Webright
Christina Katapodis
Kaitlin Mondello
Laura Eldridge
Lauren Bailey

Course Assessment

Oversee the dissemination, collection, and transcription of course evaluations.
Rose Tomassi
Jane Boyton
Kultej Dhariwal
Sarah Schwartz
Kate Eickmeyer
Andrew Dunn

Regularly review the program’s requirements and make recommendations.
Yair Solan
Shoumik Bhattacharya
AlternatesSeth GravesAnna Zeemont

Attend to matters of diversity within the Program.
Rebecca Fullan
Danny Dupont
Mikey Rumore
Sharmaine Brown
Madison Priest
No alternates

Organize student guides on ESA Commons; revise existing guides as needed.
Rebecca Fullan
Alyssa Mackenzie
Mikayla Zagoria-Moffat
Bradley Nelson
AlternatesJohanna KarlinAnna Zeemont

Conduct the election of student committee members and ESA Co-chairs; Responsible for including any valid proposed amendments to the ESA by-laws on the ballot.
Sarah Schwartz
Kristi Fleetwood

This committee is the chief governing body of the English Program. It meets about once a month, including Open Meetings at the end of each semester.
Elissa Myers
Catherine Engh
Esther Bernstein
Danny Dupont
AlternatesAlicia Andrejewski & Jenny LeRoy

Faculty Membership
Consider changes in the doctoral faculty membership; publicize searches for new members; make recommendations to the Executive Committee.
Jane Boyton
Chelsea Wall
Alternates: Erin GarrowSean Kennedy

Friday Forum Committee
Evaluate the Friday Forum Proposals each semester.
Mikey Rumore
Maggie Birrell
AlternatesEsther BernsteinLaura Eldridge

Maintain the ESA library in the English lounge.
AlternatesSean Nolan
Work with the Placement Officer and other faculty members to coordinate job placement efforts.
Lauren Bailey
Rose O’Malley
Sean Kennedy
Erin Garrow

Recruit potential new students before and during the Open House for admitted students; coordinate the Mentor/Mentee program; coordinate with the Website Committee on materials for the Prospective Students.
Alexander Baldassano
Sydnee Wagner
Sophia Sunseri
Sophie Reimenschneider
Daniel Hengel
AlternateShoumik Bhattacharya

Maintain the ESA site; update, expand, and organize the website as needed.
Madison Priest
Patrick Smyth
Andrew Dunn

English Program DSC Representatives
*DSC reps are not elected by the ESA
Jason Nielsen
Rebecca Fullan
Shoumik Bhattacharya

At-Large DSC Representatives who are ESA members
*DSC reps are not elected by the ESA
Charlotte Thurston
Velina Manolova

Graduate Council
*Grad Council members are elected for 2 year terms
Susan Kalaz
Jason Nielsen